Christian Bartholet

Director St. Gallen/Senior Consultant/Partner

When everything seems to be going against you, remember that the airplane takes off against the wind, not with it. There is no such thing as no chance. Who always does what he is already able to do, always remains what he already is.

(Henry Ford)

I firmly believe that if someone responds to their inner calling and follows their passion, they can achieve greatness, and it is precisely these people which make a difference to a company or an organisation. Life doesn’t always go according to plan, chances are that change is the only constant in life. Hence evaluating your career from time to time as well as on-going training and continuing education are essential to an active career management.

Born and raised in Eastern Switzerland I continue to live there. Prior to earning a Bachelor’s degree of Business Administration, I completed four different apprenticeships – as a bank clerk, plumber, plumbing installer and plumbing draughtsman. Apart from several vocational trainings in management, communication, self-management and coaching I followed a management programme from INSEAD and the University of Chicago Booth School of Business.

I possess longstanding international management and leadership experience in sales and marketing, product management/research and development, procurement and production/outsourcing which I gathered at an international-oriented Swiss industrial group as well as executive management/CEO and country manager expertise having worked for an international trading company. Increasingly I was responsible for change-, integration- and reorganisation projects. Whereby the collaboration with teams and people during times of change always held a fascination for me.

In my free time I like reading books on economics or about psychology. As part of a tennis-loving family I enjoy doing different kinds of sports, I am fond of travelling and I love savouring a fine wine and good food with family as well as friends.

I am looking forward to contributing my skills, knowledge and experience to Grass & Partner’s industry, trading or SME customers and to pursue my passion, of supporting people who either voluntarily or involuntarily have come into a situation where they are obliged of taking stock of their current personal circumstances, by encouraging them to embrace change and to look for the opportunity in the change, such as creating their career vision, finding their calling as well as future possibilities or to reconsider them and to take the next steps. For your sake and the sake of the companies!

Christian Bartholet

Geschäftsführer St. Gallen/Senior-Berater/Partner

Wenn alles gegen dich zu laufen scheint, erinnere dich daran, dass das Flugzeug gegen den Wind abhebt, nicht mit ihm. Es gibt nichts, was mit einer Chance vergleichbar wäre. Wer immer tut, was er schon kann, bleibt immer das, was er schon ist.»

(Henry Ford, US-amer. Ingenieur und Gründer der Ford Motor Company, 1863–1947)

Ich bin fest davon überzeugt, dass, wer seiner inneren Berufung und Leidenschaft folgt, wirklich Grosses erreichen kann, und dass in Unternehmen und Organisationen genau diese Menschen den Unterschied ausmachen. Das Leben und die berufliche Laufbahn verlaufen aber nicht immer geradeaus, vielmehr ist fortlaufende Veränderung die Konstante. Von Zeit zu Zeit durchgeführte Standort­bestimmungen und eine permanente Weiter­entwicklung und -bildung sind deshalb unabdingbar für eine aktive Gestaltung der eigenen Karriere.

Aufgewachsen und wohnhaft in der Ostschweiz, hatte ich vor dem Studium zum Betriebsökonom FH vier Berufs­ausbildungen als Bankkaufmann, Spengler, Sanitär­installateur und -zeichner durchlaufen. Neben diversen Weiter­bildungen in Führung, Kommunikation, Selbst­management und Coaching absolvierte ich Management­programme am INSEAD und an der University of Chicago Booth School of Business.

Ich bringe langjährige internationale Management- und Führungs­erfahrung in Vertrieb und Marketing, Produkt­management/F&E, Beschaffung und Produktion/Outsourcing bei einer international-orientierten Schweizer Industrie­gruppe sowie in der Geschäfts­führung (Stufe CEO) und als Country Manager bei einem internationalen Handels­unternehmen mit. Zunehmend verantwortete ich Change-, Integrations- und Reorganisations­projekte. Dabei fasziniert mich die Zusammen­arbeit mit Teams und Menschen in Veränderungen.

In meiner Freizeit lese ich gerne Bücher über Themen aus Wirtschaft und Psychologie. Als Teil einer tennis­begeisterten Familie betreibe ich auch weitere Sportarten, bin gerne auf Reisen oder geniesse mit Familie oder Freunden ein feines Essen und guten Wein.

Ich freue mich sehr, bei Grass & Partner mein Wissen und meine Erfahrung für Kunden aus Industrie, Handel und KMU einbringen zu können und meine heutige Leidenschaft auszuüben: Menschen, die freiwillig oder unfreiwillig in eine Situation der persönlichen Standort­bestimmung kommen, darin zu unterstützen, dies möglichst als Chance zu sehen, ihre Vision, Berufung und ihre zukünftigen Möglichkeiten zu finden oder zu überdenken und die nächsten Schritte in Angriff zu nehmen. Für sie und für die Unternehmen!