Roxanne Abarquez

Assistant

«Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.»

(Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy) by John Lennon, English singer and songwriter, 1940-1980)

The aforementioned sentence has accompanied me since 2011, at the time I had chosen it as my subject matter for a final exam. After three years at commercial college with the addition of having repeated a year, I had to admit to myself that this was not going to be my way forward. No sooner had I made this admission a new path opened up for me. I successfully completed my basic commercial training within the tourism, hotel and catering industry, having trained at a top-class restaurant. The phrase “The customer is always right” is every service provider’s motto, especially the one of a restaurateur. I wholeheartedly enjoyed creating memorable experiences for the guests' visits.

Subsequently, I remained true to the industry, working as a receptionist in a 3-star hotel in the heart of Zurich. Again, I particularly appreciated the regular interaction with guests from all over the world. After a long journey, I, with renewed vigour, assumed the function of receptionist, this time working for a large facility management company. Following that, I accepted a position as Head of Reception combined with managing additional back office tasks for a Chinese technology group.

My social environment is of paramount importance to me. In my spare time, I like spending time with my family, my partner and my friends. We are fond of cooking together and of savouring the delicacies we prepare. Likewise, we enjoy the peace and quiet during a leisurely walk or getting in on the action on exciting trips.

Since May 2019, I have been part of the Grass & Partner team and I am enjoying my new challenge as an assistant. Furthermore, I am curious to see what life has in store for me. But for now, I am looking forward to playing my part on your further journey.

Roxanne Abarquez

Assistentin

«Leben ist das, was passiert, während du eifrig dabei bist, andere Pläne zu machen.»

(Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy) von John Lennon, britischer Musiker und Komponist, 1940-1980)

Dieser Satz begleitet mich seit 2011, weil ich ihn damals in einer Abschlussprüfung als Thema gewählt habe. Nach drei Jahren und einem Wiederholungsjahr an der Handelsmittelschule habe ich mir eingestehen müssen, dass dieser Weg nicht meiner werden sollte und so hat sich ein Neuer für mich geöffnet. Die kaufmännische Grundausbildung in der Branche Hotel-Gastro-Tourismus habe ich erfolgreich in einem Gastronomiebetrieb der Extraklasse abgeschlossen. Der Kunde ist König - so lautet die Devise eines jeden Dienstleisters, vor allem die, eines Gastronomen. Mit Herz und Seele habe ich es genossen, aus den Besuchen der Gäste tolle Erlebnisse und Erinnerungen zu schaffen.

Anschliessend bin ich der Branche treu geblieben und habe als Rezeptionistin in einem 3-Sterne Hotel mitten in Zürich gearbeitet. Auch hier habe ich den stetigen Kontakt zu Gästen aus aller Welt besonders geschätzt. Nach einer längeren Reise bin ich mit neuem Elan als Empfangsmitarbeiterin bei einem Grossunternehmen im Bereich Facility Management durchgestartet und habe die Rezeption und zusätzliche Aufgaben im Back Office eines chinesischen Technologiekonzerns übernommen.

Mein soziales Umfeld ist mir überaus wichtig. Ich verbringe meine Freizeit mit meiner Familie, meinem Partner und meinen Freunden. Wir lieben es gemeinsam zu kochen und zu essen, geniessen die Ruhe bei einem gemütlichen Spaziergang oder holen uns die Action auf spannenden Reisen.

Seit Mai 2019 darf ich mich zur Grass & Partner Familie zählen und freue mich auf meine neue Herausforderung als Assistentin. Ich bin gespannt, was das Leben alles noch mit sich bringt. Aber erstmals freue ich mich, hier, meinen Teil auf Ihrer weiteren Reise, beizutragen.